Friday, December 04, 2020

Jazz Critics Poll ballot short list/early 2020 faves rough draft

With the deadline for submitting my Jazz Critics Poll ballot approaching, I figured I'd do something different and post a short list here, culled from my hand written notes, numbering 30 albums (I had to stop somewhere). It can double as a sort of "faves of the wretched year of 2020" rough draft. The "vaccine efficacy" rating is just a playful way of suggesting the likelihood that the releases will be ending up among the final 10. A star denotes I've covered the album in writing. I'll publish a more thorough "review of the year" (2020 is not over yet) in early January next year.

95% vaccine efficacy

  • Gard Nilssen Supersonic Orchestra: If You Listen Carefully the Music Is Yours (ODIN) *
  • Aly Keita, Jan Galega Brönnimann, Lucas Niggli: Kalan Teban (Intakt) *
  • Irreversible Entanglements: Who Sent You? (International Anthem) *
  • I.P.A.: Bashing Mushrooms (Cuneiform) *
  • Eric Revis: Slipknots Through a Looking Glass (Pyroclastic Records) *
  • Skurkar: Skjulte Motiver (Øra Fonogram) *
  • Rob Mazurek Exploding Star Orchestra: Dimensional Stardust (International Anthem)
  • Matthew Shipp: The Piano Equation (Tao Forms) *
94,5% vaccine efficacy
  • Andreas Røysum Ensemble: Andreas Røysum Ensemble (Motvind)
  • Anna Högberg Attack: Lena (Omlott) *
  • James Brandon Lewis Quartet: Molecular (Intakt) *
  • Okkyung Lee: Yeo-Neun (Shelter Press)
  • Camila Nebbia: Aura (ears&eyes Records) *
  • Superposition: Superposition (We Jazz Records) *
  • Shabaka and the Ancestors: We Are Sent Here By History (Impulse!) *
  • Lisa Mezzacappa Six: Cosmicomics (Queen Bee Records) *
  • Sigurd Hole: Lys/Mørke (Elvesang) *
  • Torbjörn Zetterberg & Den Stora Frågan: Are You Happy? (Moserobie Recordings) 
  • Otis Sandsjö: Y-OTIS 2 (We Jazz)
  • Luke Stewart: Luke Stewart Exposure Quartet (Astral Spirits)
  • Ingrid Laubrock: Dreamt Twice, Twice Dreamt (Intakt)
92% vaccine efficacy
  • Moskus: Live på Victoria (Earthly Habits) *
  • Terje Rypdal: Conspiracy (ECM) *
  • Maria Kannegaard Trio: Sand I En Vik (Jazzland)
  • Rudresh Mahanthappa: Hero Trio (Whirlwind Records) *
  • Barrage: The Was and Is to Come (Øra Fonogram) *
  • Orientation of We: Emergence (Off)
  • Wako: Wako (Øra Fonogram)
  • Hegge: Feeling (Particular Recordings) *
  • Ambrose Akinmusire: On the Tender Spot of Every Calloused Moment (Blue Note Records/Universal) *

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...