2017: favorites

    1. William Parker Quartets: Meditation / Resurrection (AUM Fidelity)
    2. Angles 9: Disappeared Behind the Sun (Clean Feed)
    3. Harriet Tubman (feat. Wadada Leo Smith): Araminta (Sunnyside Records)
    4. IDLES: Brutalism (Balley Records)
    5. Trio 3 (Andrew Cyrille, Oliver Lake, Reggie Workman): Visiting Texture (Intakt Records) 
    6. Matt Mitchell: A Pouting Grimace (Pi Recordings)
    7. Jaimie Branch: Fly or Die (International Anthem)
    8. Eric Revis: Sing Me Some Cry (Clean Feed)
    9. Aki Takase & David Murray: Cherry - Sakura (Intakt Records)
    10. Cortex: Avant-Garde Party Music (Clean Feed)
    11. Khalid: American Teen (Right Hand Music) 
    12. Jens Lekman: Life Will See You Now (Secretly Canadian)
    13. Akmee: Neptun (Nakama Records)
    14. Kate Gentile: Mannequins (Skirl Records) 
    15. Vijay Iyer Sextet: Far From Over (ECM) 
    16. Alex Lahey: I Love You Like a Brother (Dead Oceans)
    17. Gard Nilssen Acoustic Unity: Live In Europe (Clean Feed)
    18. Re-TROS: Before the Applause (Modern Sky Entertainment)
    19. Waxahatchee: Out In the Storm (Merge Records)
    20. Mike Reed, Flesh & Bone (482 Music)
    21. Nate Wooley: Knknighgh (Minimal Poetry for Aram Saroyan) (Clean Feed) 
    22. Emperor X: Oversleepers International (Tiny Engines) 
    23. Team Hegdal: Vol. 4 (Particular Recordings Collective)
    24. Arto Lindsey:  Cuidado Madame (Northern Spy Records)
    25. Alexander Hawkins: Unit[e] (self-released) 
    26. Randy Newman: Dark Matter (Nonesuch) 
    27. Hegge: Vi är ledsna men du får inte längre vara barn (Particular Recordings)
    28. Lisa Mezzacappa: avantNOIR (Clean Feed) 
    29. Matthew Shipp Trio: Piano Song (Thirsty Ear)
    30. Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever: The French Press (Sub Pop)
    31. Brockhampton: Saturation II (Qustion Everythin)
    32. Satoko Fujii Orchestra New York: Fukushima (Libra Records) 
    33. Håvard Wiik Trio: This Is Not a Waltz (Moserobie Music Productions)
    34. Large Unit: Fluku (PNL)
    35. Craig Taborn: Daylight Ghosts (ECM) 
    36. Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit: The Nashville Sound (Southeastern Records)
    37. David S. Ware Trio: Live in New York 2010 (AUM Fidelity) 
    38. Satoko Fujii Orchestra Tokyo: Peace (Libra Records)
    39. Pereservation Hall Jazz Band: So It Is (Legacy)
    40. CP Unit: Before the Heat Deadth (Clean Feed) 
    41. Tyshawn Sorey: Versimilitude (Pi Recordings)
    42. Eivind Opsvik Overseas: Overseas V (Loyal Label) 
    43. Saint Etienne: Home Counties (Heavenly Recordings) 
    44. Kirk Knuffke: Cherryco (SteepleChase)
    45. Atomic: Six Easy Pieces (Odin)
    46. Lithics: Borrowed Floors (Water Wing Records, 2016)
    47. Orchestra Baobab: Tribute to Ndiouga Dieng (World Circut Records)
    48. Wire: Silver /Lead (pinkflag) 
    49. The Mountain Goats: Goths (Merge Records)
    50. JD Allen: Radio Flyer (Savant) 
    51. Goncalo Almeida-Rodrigo Amado-Marco Franco: The Attic (NoBusiness)
    52. Priests: Nothing Feels Natural (Dischord Records)
    53. Steve Coleman: Morphogenesis (Pi Recordings) 
    54. Miguel Zenón: Típico (Miel Music) 
    55. LCD Soundsystem: American Dream (DFA/Columbia) 
    56. Sunny Sweeny: Trophy (Aunt Daddy Records)
    57. Nicole Mitchell: Mandorla Awakening II: Emerging Worlds (FPE Records)
    58. Angelica Sanchez Trio: Float the Edge (Clean Feed)
    59. Harris Eisenstadt Canada Day Quartet: On Parade in Parede (Clean Feed) 
    60. Brandon Seabrook: Die Trommel Fatale (New Atlantis)
    61. Spoon: Hot Thoughts (Matador)
    62. Bardo Pond: Under the Pines (Fire Records)
    63. Tresspass Trio: The Spirit of Pitesti (Clean Feed)
    64. The Microscopic Septet: Been Up So Long it Looks Like Down to Me: The Micros Play the Blues (Cuneiform Records) 
    65. Diet Cig: Swear I'm Good at This (Frenchkiss Records) 
    66. Syd: Fin (Columbia)
    67. Amor Amok: We Know Not What We Do (Intakt Records) 
    68. Led Bib: Umbrella Weather (RareNoise Records)
    69. Nnamdi Ogbonnaya: DROOL (Father/Daughter Records) 
    70. The Necks: Unfold (Ideologic Organ) 
    71. Low Cut Connie: Dirty Pictures (Part 1) (Contender)
    72. Ross Hammond: Follow Your Heart (Prescott Recordings)
    73. Jeremy Pelt: Make Noise (High Note)
    74. Julia Ulehla & Aram Bajakian/Dálava: The Book of Transfigurations (Songlines Recordings)
    75. Noah Perminger: Meditations on Freedom (self released)
    76. Benjamin Brooker: Witness (Rough Trade) 
    77. Cloud Nothings: Life Without Sound (Carpark Records)
    78. Ahmad Jamal: Marseille (Jazz Village)
    Reissues and vault music:
    • Dave Holland: Conference of the Birds (ECM)
    • Thelonious Monk: Les Liaisons Dangereuses (1960) (Sam Records) 
    • Prince: Purple Rain (Deluxe, Expanded Edition) (NPG Records/Warner)
    • Soundgarden: Ultramega OK (Sub Pop)
    • Skrap: "Marianna" (Fanfare)
    • Sun-EL Musician feat. Samthing Soweto: "Akanamali"
    • Stormzy: "Big For Your Boots"
    • Ibibio Sound Machine: "Give Me a Reason" (Merge)
    • Body Count: "No Lives Matter"
    • Pink: "What About Us"


    No comments:

    Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...